Friday, October 31, 2014

Student Interview with Stefano Magagni

Next up in our student interview is our Italian godfather, don Magagni. A man of great passion, he has made a legendary reputation within the school walls as a micro-mechanical/part-making wizard.

Name: Stefano Magagni
Nationality/Origin: Italy

What attracted you to watchmaking?

Different reasons attracted me to watchmaking, after 21 years of night shifts in different fields I needed a change. I've always been attracted by mechanical parts and how they work together, I've always been amazed how, in such a limited space like a timepiece, you can fit in so many delicate and small components and how they can work in so great harmony and with such great precision. I also grew up surrounded by all sort of clocks, both alarm clocks and chime clocks along with pocket watches.

What did you do before you started studying watchmaking?

I have a diploma in technical dentistry and worked 6 years in the field. I have worked as a waiter and a bartender, as well as a professional casino dealer and international poker dealer.

What has been your favorite part/subject of your time at school so far?

All subjects have been extremely interesting but the component making I think has been the one which attracted me the most.

What is your favorite watch brand and why?

I don't have a favorite brand, I keep an open mind and admire what different brands do and the innovations that they come up with and bring to the industry.

A sliding pinion that Stefano made for his restoration school watch project,
entirely made by hand, using traditional Schaublin lathe.
What was your first watch? How old were you when you got it?

My first watch was a quartz Seiko with digital display, I must have been around 12 or 14 years old.

How many watches do you own?

Right now I only own once watch, an old Perseo pocket watch.

What do you plan on doing after school?

Well I'm planning to find a job in the industry hopefully in after sales service or restoration and gain experience. Maybe one day I'll go independent and open up my very own after sales service shop and restore old antiques watches.

What do you like/dislike about the watchmaking industry?

I don't know much about watchmaking industry to have an opinion yet but I've worked in many different fields in the past and more or less industries are much alike, just a few different technical aspects.

What types of watches do you like (classical, sporty, extreme)?

Classical watches, some sporty watches are interesting mostly for the materials used, extreme are definitely not my cup of tea.

How do you like living in Switzerland?

Switzerland in my opinion is a good save country to live in, civilized and friendly.

What do you like to do in your free time here?

I don't have much free time but when I do I like biking around the mountains, go to the swimming pool, go jogging and visiting new places.

What is your favorite tool you have made or used, do you often buy second hand tools?

I have made some tools either planned by the school program or created for special needs, I don't have a favorite tool I think that every tool has its special way of being used and the secret is to learn how to use it in order to get the best out of it. I do visit often second hand tool shops and tool flea markets and I buy all sorts of tools which hopefully will be useful to me in the near future.

Balance staffs that Stefano made in the 8 mm lathe and the Jacot tool.

Us here at K&H Watchmaking Competence Centre would like to thank Stefano for taking his time and answer few of our questions.

Disclaimer: The opinions of the students of K&H Watchmaking Competence Centre do not necessarily represent the opinions of the school.

1 comment: